Moving to MacOS from Linux

Hi guys,

Apologies if this is off-topic, please feel free to change the category from programming to social if you deem appropriate.

I just got given a new Macbook Pro from my work. My background is generally Windows but I have been working solely on Linux (Xubuntu) for the last year. I really got hooked on the feeling of ‘closeness’ with what’s going on under the hood that you get with Linux. However having access to some apps only available on Mac/Windows has made the switch necessary.

Does anyone have any general advice on MacOS programming/setup? I would love to hear you opinions!

Thank you for taking the time to read (and hopefully respond to) my post! :smiley:

I switched from Linux to Mac a few years back, and I love the change :slight_smile:

You can’t maybe get as close to the OS, but you can get pretty close still compared to how something like Windows feels. I’d definitely recommend getting Homebrew installed and running everything through that. Set up a Brewfile for yourself etc.

Beyond that, I guess it comes down to what your Linux setup looked like and what you want to replicate?

I maintain a personal TODO list for myself when setting up a new machine in the README of my dotfiles repo - maybe it’ll be helpful to you: GitHub - iHiD/dotfiles: My Dotfiles :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Hi Jeremy!

Thank you for your quick response. I’ll definitely look into Homebrew more, I used it yesterday to setup the Exercism CLI on my machine but haven’t done anything more with it yet.

Thank you for your response and link to your TODO, just having a read of it now!

1 Like

Hi Jeremy,

I know you have already responded but I was particuarly interested in the reasons behind you saying ‘I love the change’.

Would you be kind enough to expand upon this a little please?

Cheers,

Alex.

1 Like