All Your Base JS; need support

I am doing the “All Your Base” JavaScript exercise. My toBaseTen method. works perfectly. But, my toBaseX is a bit broken. Well, kind of a lot. So, first of all, my while loop was never breaking, so I posted on a reddit, and they told me to use a forced-breaking loop. I replaced true with BREAKER--. The loop eventually breaks after 10,000 iterations if BREAKER is never equal to zero.

When I ran the tests for my code below, 7 tests passed! But then, I received an error for Test 6: Converter > trinary to hexadecimal. You can go to this track yourself to see the context and run it, not gonna provide every single detail. Here is the error I got:

Error: expect(received).toEqual(expected) // deep equality

- Expected  - 1
+ Received  + 2

Array [
+   1,
+   0,
  ]

I am not good at diffs, but I think that means that the output [2, 10] is expected but [2, 1, 0] was received.

I have no idea how to fix this. Can y’all help me out please? I am so stuck, tried so many things, and my code isn’t working. I hope you guys know what’s going on.

//
// This is only a SKELETON file for the 'All Your Base' exercise. It's been provided as a
// convenience to get you started writing code faster.
//

const toBaseTen = (number, from) => {
  let memory = 0;
  for (let i = 0; i < number.length; i++) {
    let num = number[i];
    let base = (number.length - 1) - i;
    let final = num * (from ** base);
    memory += final;
  }
  return memory;
}

const toBaseX = (number, to) => {
  let BREAKER = 10000;
  let buffer = number;
  let memory = [];
  while (BREAKER--) {
    let quotient = Math.floor(buffer/to);
    let remainder = buffer % to;
    buffer = quotient;
    memory.unshift(remainder);
    if (quotient == 0) {break}
  }
  return parseInt(memory.join(''));
}

export const convert = (number, from, to) => {
  let decimal = toBaseTen(number, from);
  let integer = toBaseX(decimal, to);
  return String(integer).split('').map(Number);
};
1 Like