Any musicians out there?

When I was 8 years old I had my first violin lesson. Not really sure how I ended up with a violin in my 8 year old hands (and not sure many survived the screeching sounds that cut through concrete walls!), but it was my experience of being taught music.

I subsequently tried the trumpet, piano but ended up becoming quite proficient on the acoustic guitar and stringed instruments (other than violins!)

I’d love to know what instrument you play and why you chose that one…

2 Likes

Been playing the piano on and off since 1987. Even played on stage and on live TV around 1996. Added bass guitar to the mix, plus fiddled with a little bit of drums and accordion. Nowadays, I’m toying around with my daughter’s ukulele.

1 Like

I started learning guitar when I was eleven. My senior year in high school I was a guitar instructor. I kept playing until I was around fifty, and then decided to focus on writing poetry (which I started doing around nine.) I haven’t really touched a guitar in over fifteen years.

I never considered myself a musician. I was essentially a trained chimp who could play some songs, but reading music was a struggle, and I learned some of the lingo but never really warmed to it.

2 Likes

I’ve fiddled with piano during my last two years of high school, then did nothing for years, and starting singing when I was 26. Does that make me a muscian? I don’t necessarily think so. I guess my instrument, though, are my vocal chords.

2 Likes

I fiddled with the cello (pun intended), and then followed on with the violin and viola. My grandmother taught music, until her husband died, but also wrote songs.

Looking to hopefully acquire a violin early next year, or maybe for Christmas.

3 Likes