Guido's Gorgeous Lasagna problem

Hi, I’m new to Exercism. I attempted the Guido’s Gorgeous Lasagna problem, and I thought I did well. My solution is pretty much exactly the same as the author, BethanyG, but I can’t get my program to pass the test. The only real differences from the author’s solution and mine is that I used 3 single quotes for the docstrings instead of double quotes, and I put in some input statements and print statements to make it interactive. I don’t think that’s why it isn’t passing the tests. I got the following error messages:

"
Ran 1 test in 0.003s
Error
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “C:\Program Files\WindowsApps\PythonSoftwareFoundation.Python.3.11_3.11.1264.0_x64__qbz5n2kfra8p0\Lib\unittest\loader.py”, line 34, in testFailure
raise self._exception
ImportError: Failed to import test module: lasagna_test
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “C:\Program Files\WindowsApps\PythonSoftwareFoundation.Python.3.11_3.11.1264.0_x64__qbz5n2kfra8p0\Lib\unittest\loader.py”, line 154, in loadTestsFromName
module = import(module_name)
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
File “C:\Users\monop\Exercism\python\guidos-gorgeous-lasagna\lasagna_test.py”, line 2, in
import pytest
ModuleNotFoundError: No module named ‘pytest’

FAILED (errors=1)

Process finished with exit code 1
"

I did install pytest using pip in the Windows command prompt, as well as pytest-cache and pytest-subtests. I get the impression from these error messages that my program isn’t passing not because of the content of the program itself but because I didn’t download something or I didn’t set up my environment correctly or I didn’t import something. What do I have to do to fix this?

That sounds like Python can’t find the pytest module.

How did you run the tests? There’s a small chance you may need to restart your shell after installing pytest to ensure the environment picks up any needed paths.

Hi @KrashOverryder :wave: