Modernise exercism/exalysis (renovate and newer go versions) MRs

Please see this (auto-closed) MR as an example:

I like to create a few more to bring support for new go version

based on:

• githubcom /exercism/go/pull/2609
  • githubcom /exercism/cli/blob/main/go.mod

I believe 1.20 would be a consistent candidate.

PS.

• I am new to exercism project contrib and standards
  • “An error occurred: Sorry, new users can only put 2 links in a post.”
  1. What is the benefit of that above PR?
  2. What is the reason/benefit of bumping the Go version on that repo?

PRs should be created based on a need/reason/benefit which should first be discussed and approved.

I appreciate that clarification

1. What is the benefit of that above PR?

For exercism new-comers (like me) who are setting up tooling or are curious, go install fails for newer go versions as in the MR description.

1. What is the reason/benefit of bumping the Go version on that repo?

Unless that repo is subject to archiving, then in my view, it should follow supported versions or some defined policy for what the go versions exercism toolchain is supporting.

Biggest wins I can think of:

• iterative maintenance is easier than catchup over multiple releases
  • users who like to use that tool can install directly as in README without the need to clone the repo or maintain multiple legacy go versions

I am open to any feedback; the above is only my subjective take.

cc @junedev and @andrerfcsantos. I’ll also move this to the Go category for Go mentors to see, and crosslink on Discord :slight_smile:

The linked PR removes comments. I don’t see how it makes/prevents go install from failing :slight_smile:

What does the above PR accomplish?