Need help with conditionals

I am new to bash and I don’t quite get how the conditionals work here. I tried running the following code to solve this exercise. My exact problem is with the value of flag. The code enters the final if block even when flag is true. Why is that happening?

main () {
    res=""
    flag="false"
    echo "$(( $1 % 3 == 0))"
    if [[ "$(( $1 % 3 == 0 ))" -eq 1 ]]
    then
	echo "here"
        res+="Pling"
        flag="true"
	echo $res
	echo $flag
    fi
    if [[ "$(( $1 % 5 == 0 ))" -eq 1 ]]
    then
        res+="Plang"
        flag="true"
    fi
    if [[ "$(( $1 % 7 == 0 ))" -eq 1 ]]
    then
        res+="Plong"
        flag="true"
    fi
    echo $flag
    if [[ $flag -eq "false" ]]
    then
        echo "why"
        res=$1
    fi
    echo $res
}

main "$@"

P.S. - General improvements to the code are also welcome :)

Are you sure about the -eq? As far as I know that’s for string integer comparisons.

But I’m not a heavy Bash user, so perhaps one of the experts knows more.

1 Like

TLDR; use == for string equality.

-eq is the arithmetic equality operator. In arithmetic context, bash allows you to refer to variables without the “parameter expansion syntax”, i.e. without the $.

The quoted conditional is equivalent to (( $true == $false ))

In arithmetic expressions, empty or unset variables get the value zero. Since both variables (named true and false) are unset, we have “does zero equal zero?”

At an interactive bash prompt, to see the list of conditional operators, do this sequence of commands:

help [
help test
help [[
1 Like

There is an arithmetic conditional expression ((...)) – see Conditional Constructs in the manual. Instead of wrapping an arithmetic expansion inside the string-oriented [[...]], use

if (( $1 % 3 == 0 )); then

As mentioned above, you can even put “bare” variables in there:

x=10

if [[ "$(( $x < 20 ))" -eq 1 ]]; then echo "smaller"; fi

# or, this is much tidier

if (( x < 20 )); then echo "smaller"; fi