Problem with wheat exercise - Grains.py

Hi!

I have problem with wheat exercise. I just don’t know where is the mistake, because code looks right. Maybe I just don’t understand the task. Please help me, here is my code:

def square(number):
if (number is int and number>=1 and number<=64):
return 2**(number-1)
else:
raise ValueError(“square must be between 1 and 64”)

def total():
sum = 0
for i in range(1,64):
sum = sum+2**(i-1)
return sum

You haven’t told us what error message is being reported.

In case it helps, here is some information about
range()
range()

@bkoro
so, I am a practically a total beginner (~3wk experience messing with python) so take anything I say with a grain of salt.

I didn’t know where to start with this exercise. I knew there was an exponential relationship but I didn’t know how to formulate the equation. Luckily, I found this post which helped me get started.

As far as I can tell, your square(number) function is correct.

In regards to the the total() function, I had been mulling over it for many hours trying to use what @keiraville posted. After a lot of trial and error, I figured out a possible solution using a while-loop with a boolean expression instead of a for-loop.

https://pythontutor.com/
above is a link to a tool that helps you visualize your code step by step. I used it to figure out said “solution.”

I put “solution” in quotations because I am still getting an error even though my code spills out the right answer every time.

Also, the total() function should have an argument passed to it like number is to the square() function. This is where I am getting an error that says total() should have a positional argument even though it is there in my code.

I purposefully didn’t post my code in case you wish to figure it out on your own. let me know if you’d like to see what I did.

If your solution attempt has

def total(arg):

and a test calls

total()