Sum of Multiples, Dig Deepter: Possible Improvement?

I’ve just looked at the “dig deeper” section for “sum of multiples” and I wondered if the current approach for " Calculating sum from factors" could possibly be improved - or if the following would actually make it worse?

factors.iter()
        .filter(|&&factor| factor != 0)
        .flat_map(|&factor| (factor..limit).step_by(factor as usize))
        .collect::<HashSet<_>>().iter()
        .sum()

My assumption is that collecting into a HashSet should be faster than sorting and deduplicating, no? And the code is shorter and imho not less readable. Of course, I’m new to rust, so I don’t know if that’s not idiomatic for some reason.

Another version which uses a set all the way might be

factors.iter()
        .fold(HashSet::<_>::new(), |mut agg, &curr| {
            (curr..limit).step_by(curr as usize).for_each(|f| { agg.insert(f); });
            agg
        })
        .into_iter().sum()

No idea if that would seem readable to a rustacean and if there’s a better way to express this ;-)

Happy to create a PR if any of this seems like a good idea.

Running some benchmarks is a really good way to get some data about that!

For reference, here’s the relevant discussion on the original PR.

An earlier version of the article included the statement that the vector version uses less memory, but this is the case only for small n. Since performance depends on input shape anyway, the performance discussion was simply removed.

I think the only information a benchmark could give us here is for which input size HashSet starts outperforming Vec. I don’t think that’s terribly interesting, since it depends on hardware anyway.

Your first version seems like the best to me. It is the most straight-forward, idiomatic approach without thinking about performance. And because we can’t say much with certainty about performance, that’s what I would prefer.