Unfortunate "senior" and cry for last push forward

I need your specific advice on which way to start exercising, before I decide to fully support Exercism. Due to unfortunate decisions in my life, at the age of 57, as a software developer by profession, for more than 15 years I did all sorts of things in a company that has no understanding of IT teams, I worked in various technologies, but I did not specialize in any of them. Don’t pelt me with so many stones that I die immediately. I understand almost every piece of code I look at when I read and study it. When I get a task in a project, I’m slow to come up with what part of the code needs to be changed or something added, but I’m very afraid to do something right away because I’m insecure and I don’t know how to type the code by heart, because I don’t have good practice. I’m sad. Now I’m in a new company, I embarked on an adventure surrounded by younger colleagues, I have a lot of will and energy to learn and master tasks, but I don’t know how long the employer will have patience for me, who has no expertise in anything. I want to become a good worker for my employer and contribute to good work results. The work for now is legacy maintenance on Java 1.7, and in a few months we will go into refactoring. That’s why I would like to learn Java and databases, REST, microservices, Docker, etc. at home on my computer every day. If you understand how I feel in this situation, please advise me wisely and pedagogically on how to practice my craft in free time to be better at work. You can tell me how to start with Exercism just so that Java programming in the modern world becomes a good trade for me, for my improvement and to the satisfaction of my employer. And then I will support this interesting service. Thank you, kind wishes