What pros of Go PL can You list in order to convince Your colleagues to write in it?

I work as a backend developer and our stack in company is C# (ASP.Net, ASP.Net Core) and MS SQL Server as DBMS. We work in financial sector and provide softwere to local banks. So I had a task to investigate which programming language can we choose to write our new module in, which can improve our applications and I chose to switch to Golang. That’s why I ask You to make a list of pros of choosing Golang language, so I can convince my colleagues to this language.

1 Like

What were the reasons that made you choose Go? It seems that that’s likely your list to show your colleagues. Having 100 reasons is probably less impactful than having the 1 or 2 big reasons you decided to go that way :slight_smile:

The problem is that I might not know the answer to some questions because of my little experience. For example I might have never used any function or language construction, bacause there wasn’t a need for me, so I can not answer the question like “tell about this function/construction alternatives in Go”.
But anyway thanks for Your answer

@Mirzomuin My question was a geunine one. What was it that’s made you choose to switch to Go?

1 Like

Maybe it was:

• the syntax that is easy to understand and to code.
  • the restricted types and explicit error handling
  • the fast and convenient tool - goroutines
  • fast compilation
  • good serialization and deserialization speed (really important for us)
  • easy work with files

But I think, it’s just my point of view, which is the reflection of my experience and knowledge about programming languages. That’s why I asked for an experts’ opinion to confirm or disprove my choice.