I was confused by the instructions for Bowling, and propose the following diffs.
- A spare is where all ten pins are knocked down by the second throw. - The total value of a spare is 10 plus the number of pins knocked down in their next throw. + The total value of a spare is 10 plus the number of pins knocked down in the next throw.
A consistency nitpick.
- A strike is where all ten pins are knocked down by the first throw. The total value of a strike is 10 plus the number of pins knocked down in the next two throws. - If a strike is immediately followed by a second strike, then the value of the first strike cannot be determined until the ball is thrown one more time.
This sentence does not deliver new information, i.e. explains nothing that has not already been explained, but does carry potential for confusion. (Reading it I wondered whether I was misunderstanding something, because the apparent meaning was too obvious.)
The tenth frame in the game is a special case. - If someone throws a strike or a spare then they get a fill ball. + If someone throws a spare or a strike then they get one or two fill balls respectively. Fill balls exist to calculate the total of the 10th frame.
This sentence led me to Wikipedia for a sanity check. I didn’t know the rules of bowling beforehand; my confusion stemmed purely from this inconsistency in the instructions. As it turns out, the number of fill balls depends on the last frame result, so let’s say that.
( How many fill balls are thrown when the 9th frame is a strike? Ah, the above still holds true, it all works out, no special rules required here )
Scoring a strike or spare on the fill ball does not give the player more fill balls. The total value of the 10th frame is the total number of pins knocked down.
While these sentences do not actually add information either, I’m fine with keeping them as the capacity for confusion seems very low.
Also a canonical datum confuses me. Edit: no longer!
consecutive spares each get a one roll bonus 5 5 3 7 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 ↦ 31
Should this not sum to (10 + 3) + (10 + 4) = 27 instead?