How to choose the next step and when should I take it?

Dear friends, how are you today?

I have two questions and I would appreciate if you could share your opinion, please.

I am 47 years old, I’ve never had direct previous experience with IT before. I’ve been studying Python for 10 months now and I’m loving it! Solving Exercism exercises has been so enjoyable and fun that I could spend years just studying Python and solving exercises here. Honestly, I wake up every morning super excited to learn more about the language and practice here.
But there’s another side of me that realizes the tech world is made up of infinitely complex universes. Two days ago, for example, I was solving an Exercism exercise in VS Code and thought it would be good to create a Git branch to solve the exercise in another way. Before I realize, I had already left the exercise aside and entered the Git universe (I understand Git main concepts, but I don’t know yet how to use it).
So, for a beginner like me, who is studying alone, on my own pace, without a formal course, it is very difficult to have discernment in two aspects:

1. Have I learned enough in what I’m studying now to allow myself to study something new?"

I just got mentored (so brilliantly) by @MatthijsBlom on the “Transpose” exercise. By iteration 9, so wisely, he wrote (about programming):

Well, first comes how to say things , but after comes what is even worth saying .

This sentence blew my mind because it seems so true!
How can I measure how much I already know about how to say things in order to move on to other universes beyond the programming language? Honestly, even though I’ve been trying my best for the past 10 months, I feel like I know very little about Python (after all, 10 months is not that much time!). But am I studying “Italian” to become an expert “Italian translator” or to “travel to Italy and communicate”?