How to make better (simple) algorithms?

Dear friends,

I am a musician, changing career to IT.
I’ve been studding Python for 10 months. It is my first programming language and it is also the first (and only) thing I am studding until now.

I am solving exercism (about 70 Python exercises). In general, it takes lots of time for me to find solutions. And that’s ok!
But my code is usually made with too many lines and now I am asking myself the following question:

“How to develop (improve) the algorithm inside my mind, before starting to solve the exercises”?

1. Sometimes, I think maybe better algorithms only come after lots and lots of practice.
  2. Sometimes, I am afraid when I ask myself: is logic something we are really able to improve?
  3. Sometimes, I think that after finding my own solution, I should learn from community solutions, but most of the time the best solutions are unreachable to me (I just can’t understand the logic or even the code from other users). Should I invest (spend) lots and lots of time on this or should I move on to the next exercise and hope someday I will come back and improve my own algorithms from this exercises?

So, having in mind these 3 items, could you please give me some advise?

Thank you so much,

Rod.

1. Practice helps :slight_smile:
  2. Algorithm design is a skill. Like any skill, it requires practice and gets better with practice.
  3. You gotta learn from somewhere. A lot of nifty algorithm ideas aren’t something that each programmer came up with on their own but is something they were shown, read about or learned in a class. People will be like, “Oh, yeah. I used Dijkstra to solve that!” Those people didn’t come up with that algorithm themselves; they were shown it and shown a couple of places it applied. Over time, you build a collection of tricks, tips, approaches and algorithms. Over time, you learn patterns and get better at recognizing them. Over time, you get better at mapping patterns to algorithms.