Javascript boolean: Annalyn's infiltration

Hi all
sorry to bother, but I’m trying to complete the boolean exercise, but as I’ve never programmed before, I’m a bit stuck on how to implement boolean logic. Could anyone help? The stub is `export function canExecuteFastAttack(knightIsAwake) {

}`
knightIsAwake is a constant set to true. This function is supposed to implement boolean logic to return false if knightIsAwake is true, otherwise the function returns true.

Hi and welcome!

Let’s start with the logic of the function, without any code involved.

How would you, as a human, determine the result if you were given the value of knightIsAwake?
What is the result of canExecuteFastAttack(true)?
What is the result of canExecuteFastAttack(false)?
Can you describe how you get from the value of the parameter to the result?

I would determine the result by stating the opposite of knightIsAwake. We know that if the knight is awake, the fast attack cannot be used, and if the knight is asleep, the fast attack can be used.

The result of canExecuteFastAttack(true) would be false, and canExecuteFastAttack(false) would be true.

Great!

Do you know how to produce the “opposite” of a boolean?
Do you know any operation where “operation(true)” is false, and “operation(false)” is true?

Would the NOT operator be of use here (!)? Would that be placed within the function to return the opposite value to knightIsAwake?

“NOT” is a good idea.
Now let’s transform that into code.

Do you know the JavaScript syntax of a boolean “NOT”?

I don’t know exactly, but is it as simple as:

export function canExecuteFastAttack(knightIsAwake) {
return !knightIsAwake;
}

That looks pretty good. Go on, try it!

Have done, it worked. Many thanks.

Happy coding!

sorry again, but on the final task, you are asked to complete the function
‘export function canFreePrisoner(knightIsAwake, archerIsAwake, prisonerIsAwake, petDogIsPresent)’