Learning path(s)

Hi everyone! I’m new to Exercism and I’m very impressed with the people and the platform. For 20 years I hadn’t dared getting back to coding and now, within 10 days, I have completed 20 exercises with the support of personal mentors. Wow. That feels amazing. I thank you all for making it work. And I’m looking forward to giving back.

While I came here to learn C I decided to start with Python given its syllabus (awesome!) so I can build a strong foundation. Looking forward, my idea is to finish the syllabus and when done, start looking at another language. Maybe C, to get a feel for the bone marrow. Or Type-/ JavaScript, for web and mobile. Currently I don’t have any requirements to choose a specific language and I don’t have a project (yet).

Do you think my approach makes sense? How did you go about learning how to think and dream in code?

5 Likes

Welcome back to coding and congratulations on achieving 20 exercises already!

I personally use various languages through work so love using Exercism to try out different languages and learning a lot from the various conceptual ideas/approaches that each language brings.

Python is definitely a great track to get back into coding. It can be applied to almost every use-case and has a wealth of libraries. It’s also multi-paradigm so you can approach from your preferred view - object oriented or functional.

The Python track also has a great curriculum so good choice!

1 Like

Practice, practice, practice. It takes time to really absorb the idioms of the language you want to learn.

I was thinking about “it takes 10,000 hours to master a skill”, googled it and found this which seems apropos: 10,000-Hour Rule: A Simple Rule for Mastering a Skill

This is a “cranky old man” essay that I love from Peter Norvig: Teach Yourself Programming in Ten Years.