New programmer looking to share beginner experience

Hello everyone!

My name is Michael Johnson and I have been studying Web Development for around 5 months now. I come from a background of relatively weak study so I have always struggled, although I have never given up. It was all so frustrating until I found Exercism. My gosh, what can I say about this site that hasn’t been said already! Even though I still have many gaps in my knowledge, I am actually starting to move forward. By completing the challenges with absolutely no help other than documentation, it has forced me to go beyond tutorials and seek to fill those knowledge gaps. I can’t overstate enough how important sites like this are for growth. I don’t want to ramble so this is just me expressing my thanks and love for this space. I wish you all well on your coding journey and remember, if you are struggling, odds are that someone else struggled with the same thing and eventually succeeded by perseverance.

Thank you all for reading

Michael Johnson

17 Likes

How amazing to read. Thank you @mikej321!

And big congrats on the progress with your journey. I can confidently say that you will never fill all your knowledge gaps - programming is a life-long learning process - but the attitude you’re approaching this with means you’ll thrive in coding :slight_smile:

We’re currently starting to build out a Learn to Code site aimed at total beginners, which aims to take a lot of what we’ve learnt from Exercism and package it for people with zero experience. We hope to launch it towards the end of the year. When we’re a bit further we’ll be reaching out to people to get insights about what they found easy/hard, so please look out for those messages so we can absorb all your feedback! :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Michael Johnson