Rust robot names exercise should come with a warning and hints

The robot names exercise on the Rust track requires (as far as I can tell) some pretty serious trickery. The exercise requires that Robot::new() creates robots with names which must be globally unique. I’m no expert, so there may be another way to accomplish this, but the solution I (and many others) arrived at was to use lazy_static or an unsafe block to initialize a global HashSet. I think this exercise should come with

a warning: mutable globals are ok in some cases but should be avoided if another solution is possible.

a hint: At least point out that making variable sized mutable global is awkward for a good reason and explain that reason. Then point the student at lazy_static, or better yet some material about how to initialize a mutable global HashSet using an unsafe block.

I actually like that Exercism exercises are hard enough that I have to go find solutions elsewhere on the internet, but this is a case where some direction would be helpful in my opinion.

Most the exercises on Exercism are practice exercises and do not contain any language-specific pointers or tips. Many exercises do require figuring out how to do “something”, which often is tricky and/or language-specific. The practice exercises typically do not make an attempt to lay out warnings, tricks, utilities or hints which are specific to one language.

Mentoring sessions are really good for discussion or getting additional color and context!

1 Like