Submitting Unison exercises

Trying to work on the Unison track exercises locally. I have pulled in the exercism namespace successfully and solved a couple of exercises, ran the tests etc.

Now I’m stumped on how to submit the results. There are no files to submit, and the namespace doesn’t seem to have anything but the exercises. How should I submit my work, besides copy-pasting code to the web editor?

Seems as the documentation suggests to use files.

Disclaimer: I have no experience in using unison. But to use files feels natural to me.

It seems that Unison Share does indeed provide an exercism namespace. I’m not sure how that namespace is intended to be used, but it seems to me that if you are going to use the namespace the best approach would be to copy the code to the web editor indeed.

For a more file-based approach, you probably don’t want to use the namespace directly and instead use the Exercism CLI: Working Locally, which will download each exercise into its folder and does provide a file to interact with the codebase manager. In addition to the link @NobbZ posted, also check Testing in the Unison track that provides more info on how to run the tests with the files downloaded by the CLI.

PS: Also not an expert in Unison, I just know the basics of making the first exercises on the track a few months ago.

2 Likes

I think the confusion here is that in Unison when you download an external package like the exercism one, you don’t really get files. Instead, a local database with the code is updated and you use the unison codebase manager to interact with that database. Files can be optionally used as intermediate representations of the code to update the database, but ultimately unison only cares about the code saved in AST form in the database.

1 Like