Introduce Yourself!

Welcome to our Community :raised_hands:

We’re so glad you’ve joined us. We’d love to get to know you better, so please take a moment to introduce yourself and share your interests with us.

Whether you’re into music, sports, technology, or anything else, we’d love to hear about it.

Let’s build a strong, supportive Community together!

3 Likes

Nice. I’ll start!

Hi, I’m Jeremy. I’m the co-founder and CEO of Exercism. I’ve been coding for as long as I can remember. While most of my day-to-day work is in web dev (e.g. building Exercism, specifically using Ruby!) I’ve also done various other bits and pieces including building CAD software and creating a Machine Learning algorithm used during Interventional Cardiology. I have a degree in AI (from before it was cool!) and have been passionate about the subject and especially neural networks since my teens.

The other half of my work time is spent being entrepreneurial. As well as Exercism I’ve co-founded a number of businesses including Kaido (a team culture platform), Meducation (now defunct - but a medical education platform used by 20% of medical students worldwide) and Wondr Medical (a medical educational platform for doctors which I’m no longer involved in). I’ve also volunteered as a non-exec director for organisations such as We Don’t Settle.

Outside of work, I like to do things that move my body - climbing, walking and yoga. I used to play Ultimate Frisbee to a high level and played football (soccer for you Americans!) until recently where I decided my knees were better off without it! I’m also currently spending a lot of my free time playing chess, which I’ve not done since I was pre-teen but am really enjoying learning properly.

8 Likes