Live interview and AMA with José Valim - Creator of Elixir

This Thursday (Feb 9th) at 16.30pm UTC, I’ll be chatting to José Valim, the Creator of Elixir, to discuss Elixir, why he made it functional, its evolution, and its future. It’s going to be a really fun session! :slight_smile:

It’ll be live-streamed on YouTube and Twitch and you can set a reminder here:

Please help us spread the word by sharing this tweet: https://twitter.com/exercism_io/status/1622659937846366213

If you have a question you’d like answering, please add it to this thread. I’m going going to prioritise questions from Elixir contributors and mentors and then from the wider contributor/mentor/donor base, but if your question is intriguing enough, I may well ask it! :slight_smile:

6 Likes

This is amazing, I recently started learning Elixir, so this interview could not be at a better time than this.
Thank you Exercism crew, and also to Jose Valim!

3 Likes

Amazing and what a coincidence! Few days ago on the Elixir forum, I have made a post about my github repository of my solutions where I shared how Exercism and Elixir are awesome and how they taught me new things.

In summary, I started learning Elixir thanks to Exercism which gave me the chance to try the language with few challenges. After that, I have decided to I learn Elixir seriously with different resources. I came back later to Exercism, but this time to tackle all available challenges of the Elixir track. While doing this, I learned new concepts and did my first OSS contributions. Now I am a mentor on the Elixir track.

Thank you Exercism and José Valim!

2 Likes

When you say “here” do you mean here on the forums with a bookmark on this Discourse instance, or on YouTube or Twitch, or the following video link (that is not working at the time of this writing)?

Or is there a missing link at the “set a reminder here” text?

1 Like